Interviewed by

Hey there folks,

Vincent from asked me a few questions, which I answered. Read the interview here.

Dull Knife

Mastered by James Plotkin
Garek Druss (A Story of Rats,Tecumseh, Stenskogen) and Adam Svenson (Karnak Temples Little Claw, Du Hexen Hase) have been members of Dull Knife for over 6 years. Originating as a super-jam between key players of the drone/noise/weird scene of Seattle, Dull Knife has been paired down to the nucleus of Druss and Svenson. They maintain the original vision of deep dusky organic drones that reflect the wet and mossy vision of Seattle’s grey skies and open waters.
Dull Knife seem to approach their pieces with a studied patience, focusing on improvisation and organic touches.  Chords and timbre’s naturally build over time, allowing individual instruments to separate and become identifiable in the mix.  Side A’s “Excavating” begins from a NNCK-style free-jam into the stacked fuzz of Tim Hecker-like maelstrom in the latter half of the piece.   The mournful drones introducing side B’s “The Fallow Field of Vision” slowly break away into an almost uplifting bass line seeming to evoke the heart of a resolute man stumbling towards the horizon.  It is precisely this amount of freedom the two players allow themselves that makes this LP so magical.  Freedom of instrumentation, freedom of form, freedom of tonality, freedom of vision.

Download Dull Knife

Buy at Debacle Records


It’s difficult to describe all the things going on in the background of new ZEPHRYS album from long time besties Cam and Pierce. Setting the scene: The young duo finds themselves on the brink of college, the brink of indefinite hiatus, the brink of manhood, the brink of change.  Written cooperatively between the two, “Order of the Arrow” seems to act as a final monument to growing up in the Pacific Northwest.  Breaking down what it means to be a young man, what it means to be friends.  Also bubbling under the surface is carrying the torch for PNW indie-punk heroes, invigorating the guitar/drum template with a level of honest righteousness that only youth can bring.   Some would say this album falls outside the normal purview of Debacle, but one does not come across this level of talent, heart, and songwriting and just let it slip away.
Mastered by Phil Petrocelli.

Download Order Of The Arrow

Buy at Debacle Records

Particle Being Trio

The first missive from the newly formed Particle Being Ensemble, “Post Terrestrial Vol. 1” is psychedelic treat, Balancing free-form freakouts and syncopated song forms in one cohesive release. The ensemble is paired back to a trio for this release.  Weaving in members from various Seattle groups the trio showcases core members Jon Carr (Patternmaster, Brain Fruit), Garrett Moore (Brain Fruit), and Nils Petersen (Rose Windows).
The three Seattleites have produced a multidimensional release featuring Petersen’s swirling processed trombone amid Moore’s jazzy percussion and Carr’s staccato synthesizers. Droning synthesizer and trombone gently peak and build as the opening seven minutes, on “Free Energy”. From there, the album takes you on a seamless journey through driving “Action and the Orbital Horn”, straight into explosive “Aggregate Resilience” with an overdrive straight to the album’s pinnacle. The final track, “Relative to Light”, smoothes things down, melding all the elements of the album into a bubbling, floating conclusion.

Download Post Terrestrial Vol. 1

Buy at Debacle Records

The Great Saunites & Lucifer Big Band

Collaboration between Italian psychedelic duo The Great Saunites and noise project Lucifer Big Band.

Download TGS/Lucifer Big Band EP

Jeff McLeod

Psych-space-noise featuring the Moog guitar.

Download Under Dim Self

Zann Family

Longform noise/ambient.

Download Coronation Of The Mercurial


Avant acoustic duo.

Download Burst Into Dust

Teotl Expansion

Teotl Expansion (pronounced tay-oh-tal expansion) are an exciting new act in the world of experimental electronic music. Taking inspiration from the likes of Tim Hecker, Alva Noto and Steve Reich the pair set out to make contradictory music. Complex yet simple, unnerving and soothing, organic but at the same time as un-natural as astroturf.
Teotl Expansion’s debut EP P:1 is a perfect introduction to their business practices. Each track is a spralling, glitchy, soundscape that dissorientates the listener as it surrounds them with sampled piano tracks cut up to near un-recognisable degrees.

Download P:1

Mola Mola Records

Brian John Mitchell & Andrew Weathers

A duet record between long lost biological father & son. Post-apocalyptic-pop, drones, and bare emotion.

Download Drone Is In The Blood


Sculpted feedback drones. Guitar & bass feeding back in a large empty space.  Recorded, edited, & manipulated by Promute.

Download Drone Of The Norns


Download Management